On September 19, 1963, at Morgan State College (now Morgan State University), 12 students founded what is now the nation’s fifth-largest, predominately African-American social service fraternity: Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Incorporated ®.


The Honorable founders of Iota Phi Theta® are:


1-Alpha-63 Albert Hicks*

2-Alpha-63 Lonnie Spruill, Jr.

3-Alpha-63 Charles Briscoe*

4-Alpha-63 Frank Coakley*

5-Alpha-63 John Slade*

6-Alpha-63 Barron Willis*

7-Alpha-63 Webster Lewis*

8-Alpha-63 Charles Brown*

9-Alpha-63 Louis Hudnell

10-Alpha-63 Charles Gregory*

11-Alpha-63 Elias Dorsey, Jr.*

12-Alpha-63 Michael Williams**


*denotes Founders who have transition into our Alpha Iota Omega Memorial Chapter.

**whereabouts unknown

Sponsors / Partners

  • GHWINS--Alt-Logo3.jpg

Get In Touch

  • Iota Phi Theta® Fraternity Inc.
  • Founders Hall
  •  1600 N. Calvert Street
    Baltimore, MD 21202
  •  443-438-5691 (Phone)
  • 443-438-5692 (Fax)
  •  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.